COWRA HERITAGE WALK
Available at the Cowra Visitor Information Centre is a Cowra Heritage Walk brochure that takes visitors on a journey through the town's central business district. From historic residential and commercial buildings to old churches and the courthouse, we are lucky that many of these buildings have been preserved and renovated to their former glory. Many of these buildings are open to the public including the Old Stone Flour Mill (1860) and the Australian Hotel (1846).
The original gates to the Prisoner of War Campsite, the Garrison Gates stand to this day on the corner of Binni Creek Road and Amaroo Ave. The gates are the starting point for the Garrison Walk which takes visitors along Amaroo Ave towards a dedicated walking path meandering through the grounds of the Prisoner of War Campsite. Interpretive signage and relics from the war time era stand to this day and provide the ideal place to reflect on the significant history of the Cowra region.
LACHLAN RIVER WALK
The Lachlan River Walk starts under the Cowra Bridge, home to the impressive Indigenous Bridge Pylon Murals. Visitors can enjoy a gentle stroll along the path set next to the banks of the Lachlan River. Picnic tables and grassed areas provide the ideal space to relax, enjoy a picnic or throw a line in for a spot of fishing. A leash free area is nearby offering a place for the furry members of the family to run about and enjoy the sunshine.